This Week With The Professor: Nobody’s Perfect

Today, The Professor discusses how to wager effectively and that, no matter how well you have handicapped a race, to remember that nobody is perfect.

I have noticed, while reviewing my selections from the last few podcasts, that my selections boxed in the Trifecta and Superfecta have been hitting. This reminded me that bettors will sometimes try to be too good or perfect when handicapping and especially when wagering. Picking winners

Picking winners is extremely difficult to do, so it is essential that you spread a little when playing exotics such as trifectas and superfectas. Boxing and part-wheeling are great ways to do that. Your top selection is not always going to win, but if you have handicapped well, the pick has a great chance to run first, second, or third. If three of your top four picks in a trifecta,  or even all of your top four make the superfecta, you can still turn a profit. Another advantage to this wagering method, is if your top pick is the favorite and runs second or third, the payoff is even better.

I don’t know how many times  I have asked a friend what he likes, and he may tell me, “I like the 3 with the 2,4,7.” The race runs and the result is 4-3-2-7. I see my friend and ask him, how many times did you hit that? He will say, “I missed it, I only put the 3 on top.” This is another example of great handicapping and poor wagering. Don’t be that guy that lets your ego get in the way of turning a profit. After all, nobody’s perfect.

pawprints

Do you have a question for The Professor? Leave a comment below and you could receive a $2 wagering credit to your Greyhound Channel account if your question is featured! Tune into our podcast, Catch the Action with Greyhound Channel, for news and more greyt tips from The Professor.

Leave a Reply

