This Week With The Professor: Greyhound Interference

Today, The Professor will answer a question submitted by Jasper P. on greyhound interference. Jasper P. asked, “My question has to do with on-track greyhounds who interfere with other greyhounds while racing. How many races are they allowed by the racing judge to interfere before having to be re-trained or re-schooled. Just recently I noticed a greyhound at Derby Lane that would actually stop right past the finish line to interfere with other dogs behind it. Would this greyhound be ticketed since the interference was past the finish line? Is it indicated in the program? This happened twice in a row by the same greyhound after crossing the finish line. The greyhound finished fourth in both races.”

dog_question

The answer to the first question is as follows: There are generally three judges, two work for the track and one works for the state. In order for a greyhound to receive a “ticket” (it is called a ticket because the trainer will receive written notice of this decision) for interference, two of the three judges need to deem it as interference. When a greyhound receives a “ticket,” the greyhound must school successfully twice (generally) in order to be permitted to race at that track again. If the greyhound then interferes again, they are ruled off the track. There are exceptions depending on the track. Some tracks will permit the greyhound to school again after 30 days and be given another chance. Some kennels may choose to send the greyhound to another track to race after the first “ticket,” as to not have the dog have a ruled off ruling on its record.

In regards to the second question, the answer is no, a greyhound cannot receive a “ticket” for interference once they have crossed the finish line. Anything that happens after the race is over cannot be held against the greyhound, so there would not be any notation in the program.

Thanks for the great question Jasper!

Do you have a question for The Professor? Leave a comment below and you could receive a $2 wagering credit to your Greyhound Channel account if your question is featured! Tune into our podcast, Catch the Action with Greyhound Channel, for news and more greyt tips from The Professor.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s